Tofu and Coconut Curry Soup (#21)

In this age of technology, I tend to get most of my recipes from food blogs versus paper cookbooks.  I have tons of cookbooks, probably around 20!  I even have a subscription to Cooking Light magazine which provides me with dozens of recipes each month.  One of my favorite cookbooks is Cooking Light: Way to Cook Vegetarian.

Here are some of my other favorites!

IMG_2258

This soup incorporates many Thai flavors and since I love Thai food, I figured this would be delicious!  It actually turned out semi bland and oily.  As I’ve said before, I usually follow recipes exactly the first time and then start to experiment.  I would definitely decrease the oil and maybe use full fat coconut milk (or 1 full fat, 1 light).  If you make this, please comment and let me know what adjustments you made!

Ingredients:

2 T canola oil (decrease to 1 T?)

2 tsp minced garlic (about 2 large cloves)

1/4 cup red curry paste

1 T dark brown sugar

2 (13.5 oz) cans light coconut milk

2 1/2 cups low sodium vegetable broth

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1/4 cup thinly sliced peeled fresh ginger

2 T low sodium soy sauce

2 cups thinly sliced carrot (about 4)

1 1/2 cups (1″) pieces fresh green beans (about 8 oz)

1 (14 oz) package firm tofu, drained and cut into 1″ cubes

3/4 cup cilantro leaves

Directions:

Heat oil in large pot over medium-high heat.  Add garlic to pan, sauté 30 seconds or until lightly browned.  Add curry paste, sauté 1 minute and stir constantly.  Add brown sugar, cook 1 minute.  Stir in coconut milk, broth, juice, ginger, and soy sauce.  Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 1 hour.

Add carrot, cook for 6 minutes.  Add beans, cook 4 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender.  Add tofu, cook 2 minutes.  Garnish with cilantro leaves.

Serve alone or over rice/other grain.

Yield: 6 servings (1 1/3 cup soup)

Original source here

Leave a Reply

