Skillet Cookie (#16)

For Valentine’s Day this year I received $100 gift card to Sur La Table, which is my favorite kitchen store!  I felt like a kid in a candy store…but instead I was a grown adult oozing with excitement with all the bowls, utensils, cookie cutters and gadgets surrounding me!

I walked away with a lot of great items but one thing I definitely had on my list was a large skillet.  Sounds like such a boring thing to buy to most, I’m sure.  My pots and pans are a mismatched set from my parents that they had for years before getting new ones.  They kept some of the set so I was without anything that resembled a large skillet.

I really wanted to use my new 12″ skillet right away but all I wanted, of course, was dessert!  I decided to cook one giant cookie – pizookie style for those of you who’ve been to BJ’s Brewery.  This recipe is written for an 8″ skillet so I just doubled the recipe since my 12″ skillet has a large depth.  Make sure your skillet is oven-safe as this does bake in the oven after time on the stovetop.

I tend to be a perfectionist when I’m baking.  The sugars formed this gritty mixture and the dry ingredients took forever to incorporate!  I was freaking out, people.  “This looks nothing like the picture…I’m such a horrible baker….I can’t follow any directions correctly!”  Thankfully someone was there to calm me down, shove me out of the kitchen, and stir the mixture for a little bit.  Finally the mixture resembled a cookie dough so we shoved it into the oven.  The end result was SO worth the mini breakdown!

IMG_2322

Ingredients (for 8″ skillet):

1 stick unsalted butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup chocolate chips (I recommend 1/2 white chocolate!)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour, baking soda and salt together in small bowl.  Set aside.

Melt butter in skillet over medium-low heat.  Stir in the sugars and vanilla and remove from heat.  Let rest until pan is warm, no longer hot, ~5 minutes.

Crack egg onto mixture and use a fork to whisk it into the mixture.  Place dry ingredients on top and very carefully stir with large spoon until mixture is smooth and well-mixed.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Place in oven for 15-25 minutes until top and edges are golden brown but center is still soft.

Original source here

Leave a Reply

