Lemon Ricotta Pancakes (#6)

During the weekdays I usually just have cereal or toast with peanut butter for breakfast.  On the weekends, I like to spend the mornings half awake cooking up a good breakfast while still in my PJs.  I never order pancakes at restaurants because I grew up having delicious griddlecakes made by my mom.  These pancakes are very very light and moist.

Since I get most recipes from online, I tend to scribble down the recipe on a random piece of paper and hopefully it ends up in my recipe binder.  I’m pretty sure this is the recipe that I used because it is the more simple of the recipes I had.

Ingredients:

Pancakes:

4 large eggs, separated into yolks and whites

1 1/3 cups part skim ricotta

1 1/2 T sugar

1 1/2 T freshly grated lemon zest

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Berry Compote

2 cups mixed berries, fresh or frozen (thawed)

2 T maple syrup or to taste

1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Pancakes

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

In medium bowl, whisk together egg yolks, ricotta, sugar and zest.  Add flour and stir until just combined.

In separate bowl, beat egg whites with a pinch of salt with electric mixture.  Beat until they hold stiff peaks.  Whisk about 1/4 of them into the ricotta mixture and fold in the remaining whites gently but thoroughly.

Heat griddle or skillet over medium-low heat, until drops of water scatter over surface.  Brush with some melted butter.  Working in batches, pour batter onto pan by 1/4 cup measures. Cook pancakes for 1-2 minutes on each side, until golden brown.  Transfer to baking dish and keep warm in oven.

Berry Compote

Place all ingredients in small saucepan.  Bring to simmer over medium heat and cook, stirring occasionally, until berries are mostly broken down (3-5 minutes).

Pancake source here

Berry compote source here

Leave a Reply

