Sweet Potato Fries (#24)

I know, I know….this isn’t exactly an intricate recipe that I had to follow.  But hey, it counts for me!  Sweet potatoes are one of my most favorite foods, believe it or not.  I will definitely pick sweet potato fries over any other type of fry.

I used to just bake my fries on a foil-lined baking sheet but they were never super crispy.  Obviously frying them in oil would make them crispy but that’s not really my style.  Then I saw a tip to bake them on a wire cooling rack.  Bingo!

Ingredients:

2-3 sweet potatoes

olive oil

cumin

chili powder

smoked paprika

kosher salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Cut ends off of sweet potatoes.  If preferred, peel potatoes before slicing into wedges/strips.

Add potatoes to large bowl and add ~1 T of olive oil.  Toss to coat completely.

Add spices, amounts based on personal preference.  Mix thoroughly so every wedge is covered.

Set a wire rack on a baking sheet and spray rack with non-stick spray. Lay wedges on the wire rack. Bake for 25 minutes, then check to see if the potatoes are close to where you’d like them. I usually rotate the pan at this time and put them back in for 15 minutes. They may also need an additional 5-10 after that.

Original source here

Leave a Reply

